As a parent, it is your job to protect your child when riding in a vehicle. Using car seats properly helps keep children safe. But with so many different types of car seats on the market, understanding how to use them correctly can be overwhelming for parents.
Rules of the Road New Hampshire
Child Occupant Protection Law
RSA 265:107-a Effective January 1, 2014
All children under age 7 or 57 inches (whichever is reached first) must use a properly fastened and secured child safety seat. Children under age 18 must be properly restrained in a motor vehicle including a car, pickup truck or SUV.
Rear-facing (birth to age 2)
Use either a rear-facing only seat or a convertible seat until the child reaches the weight or height limit of the seat.
Recommendation is children remain rear-facing until at least age 2. Rear-facing seat with harness provides the most protection.
Forward-facing (age 2 to age 6)
Use child safety seat with harness until child reaches weight or height limit of harness. The harness can range from 40 – 90 lbs. Seat with a harness provides more protection.
Booster seat (age 7 to 4 ft. 9 in.)
Use a booster when the child outgrows the harnessed seat. Purpose of booster is to raise the child up so the lap-shoulder safety belt fits properly. Booster's weight limit can range up to 110 lbs.
Seat belt (at least 4 ft. 9 in. to age 18)
Use a lap-shoulder belt when the child can sit safely without a booster seat. This is usually at 4 feet 9 inches when the child is between
8 – 12 years old.
For up-to-date and New Hampshire Child-Passenger Law information please visit the Child Passenger Safety Page from the Injury Prevention Center at CHaD.
For additional information please see the AAP’s Car Seat Information page for guidance on choosing the most appropriate car safety seat for your child.
How do I get my child's safety seat checked? Contact a Child Passenger Safety Inspection Station to schedule an appointment.